Author Topic: HELP New Adler/Barbour CU-100 Danfoss BD50F not getting very cold  (Read 8542 times)

Ellispe

• View Profile
Last year one of my buddies ice picked my vd-150 evaporator.  After months of research I decided to purchase a brand new CU-100  aka Danfoss –BD50F compressor and VD-150 Cold plate from Adler Barbour.  This combination has the self sealing aircraft fittings so that I could install it myself.   For a week I scoured over the instructions and once I was sure I had every question answered, and ever tool needed, I installed it following the instructions to the letter.  Please note, I have been fixing stuff on boats for 40 years and have a good handle on marine maintenance.

I left it on and when I came back in the morning I was surprised to see that only the back bottom of the evaporator had frosted over.  I checked the thermostat and tried it again. Unfortunately, nothing had changed.   I put a vertical  Ice tray and clamped it to the cold plate and it did freeze, so I know the plate is getting cold.  What seems to be the issue is that only a portion of the plate seems to be frosting?

Not sure if it makes a difference, but I did notice that I hear a gurgling sound around the evaporator that I did not hear with my old one.  Also, the compressor does not seem to turn off. When I put a thermometer in the box it was getting it down to 40 .

So what do I do now ?.  I called Adler Barbour and they said perhaps the refrigerant is low, or perhaps there is a blockage in the evaporator.  They told me to call a service guy out there, but when I called they were all 2 or 3 hundred $$$ just to have a look.

My question is , is there a way I can try to put more refrigerant in myself, or does anyone have any  ideas what else it could be.  You help would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks
Peter

Richard

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: HELP New Adler/Barbour CU-100 Danfoss BD50F not getting very cold
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2012, 10:42:40 pm »